Who’s running for school board in your district?

Candidates have filed to run for school boards in districts around the Tri-Lakes area, and many races are shaping up to be competitive.

School district residents will vote on these board members, as well as budgets and special propositions, on Tuesday, May 18.

On Monday, districts recieved the final list of candidates who each gathered at least 25 qualified signatures for their petitions.

All school board terms are for three years, except for one unexpired term in Lake Placid.

Lake Placid

There are three incumbent candidates running for three open seats here — Colleen Locke, Martha Pritchard-Spear and Daniel Cash.

This election is competitive in that whoever gets the least votes will only get a two-year unexpired term instead of a full three-year term.

When Jeff Brownell resigned shortly after the June 2020 election, Cash was appointed to fill his seat. Because school board seats come up for election on an alternating schedule, that means one term will expire a year before the other two.

AuSable Valley

In AuSable Valley Central School there are three seats open. Neither board President Robyn Pray nor Vice President Sherry Snow is running for reelection.

In this district, unique to this area, candidates run for specific seats — a result of the AuSable Forks and Keeseville school merger in 1972, district Clerk Peggy McCallister said. The three seats up for election this year all represent the Keeseville side of the district.

For the first seat, incumbent Mark Allen is running unopposed.

For the second seat, newcomers Jenna Beauregard and Patricia Gero are running against each other.

For the third seat, newcomers Aubrey Bresett and Derrick Hopkins are running against each other.


At Keene Central School, board member Aaron Miller is not running for reelection, and Emily Reynolds-Bergh is the sole candidate for that seat.