Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS
 
 
 

Blue Bombers baseball drops opener to Ticonderoga

April 19, 2013
By the News staff (sports@adirondackdailyenterprise.com) , Lake Placid News

TICONDEROGA - The Lake Placid baseball team scored its lone run in the top of the seventh inning April 15 on the way to a 6-1 loss to Ticonderoga.

It was the first game of the season for the Blue Bombers, who were scheduled to host AuSable Valley on Thursday, April 18 at the North Elba Show Grounds field for their home-opener.

Ryan Meyer pitched five innings for Lake Placid, striking out six and walking none to take the loss. He gave up four earned runs before giving way to RJ Reid, who finished the game on the mound.

Article Photos

Lake Placid’s Ryan Meyer throws a pitch against Ticonderoga on April 15 in Ticonderoga. Meyer struck out six and walked none in the 6-1 season-opening loss.
Photo by Alicia Brandes

Meyer went 2-for-3 at the plate and scored the team's only run. Reid chipped in a single and stolen base.

Tanner Wright and Ryan Trudeau took care of the pitching duties for Ticonderoga and allowed just four hits combined. Wright gave up just two hits while striking out five and walking three over the first six innings. Trudeau gave up one hit and struck out one.

Ty Denno and Miles Austin each had two hits for the Sentinels, who scored two in the fourth inning, three in the fifth and one in the sixth.

Ticonderoga is 1-2 overall.

The game was originally scheduled to be played in Lake Placid, but had to be moved because of unplayable field conditions.

---

2013 schedule

Thursday, April 18

vs. AuSable Valley, 4:30 p.m.

Monday, April 22

vs. Plattsburgh, 4:30 p.m.

Wednesday, April 24

at Beekmantown, 4:30 p.m.

Friday, April 26

at Northern Adirondack, 4:30 p.m.

Tuesday, April 30

at Saranac Lake, 4:30 p.m.

Thursday, May 2

vs. Moriah, 4:30 p.m.

Friday, May 3

vs. Northeastern Clinton, 4:30 p.m.

Tuesday, May 7

vs. Ticonderoga, 4:30 p.m.

Thursday, May 9

at Peru, 4:30 p.m.

Tuesday, May 14

vs. Saranac, 4:30 p.m.

Thursday, May 16

at AuSable Valley, 4:30 p.m.

Saturday, May 18

vs. Northern Adirondack, 10 a.m.

Monday, May 20

at Moriah, 4:30 p.m.

 
 

 

I am looking for:
in:
News, Blogs & Events Web