Devlin chosen as Lake Placid mayor

Galvin, Kelly win trustee seats

Lake Placid resident Nancy Koenig, right, signs in to vote in the village election on Tuesday, March 16 at the North Elba Town Hall. Poll worker Martha Bullock, left, looks on. (News photo — Elizabeth Izzo)

LAKE PLACID — Art Devlin is Lake Placid’s new mayor.

Voters chose Devlin, a local motel owner and longtime village trustee who ran on the Republican and Teamwork party lines, as the village’s new mayor on Tuesday, March 16. He ran against former Mayor Jamie Rogers to succeed longtime Mayor Craig Randall, who is term-limited and retiring this year. Devlin won with 342 votes to Rogers’ 222 votes.

Political newcomers Marc Galvin and Jacquelyn “Jackie” Kelly were chosen to fill two seats on the village Board of Trustees. Incumbent Trustee Scott Monroe lost his seat.

Altogether, 570 — or about 36% — of Lake Placid’s 1,555 registered voters cast ballots on Tuesday. Of those, 211 votes were by absentee ballot.

Galvin and Kelly ran on the Teamwork party line alongside Devlin, the same party that 12 years ago swept Devlin into office along with Randall and Zay Curtis.

Devlin has been a trustee for those past 12 years, eight of them as deputy mayor. He ran for mayor on a platform of fiscal conservatism, keeping infrastructure up to date, making the village government more transparent and mitigating the village’s affordable housing crisis and population loss. He owns Art Devlin’s Olympic Motor Inn, named for his father, an Olympic ski jumper.

Devlin thanked everyone who came out to vote on Tuesday.

“Thank you very much,” he said. “Twelve years ago when they voted the Teamwork party in, it was a real honor. I knew we had to live up to that expectation. To have all three members be voted in again, it’s another honor and a challenge that we have to live up to.”

Rogers said he would not consider running again.

“I want to say thank you to everyone who supported me, especially everyone who worked on the campaign team,” he said Wednesday. “I texted Art this morning and congratulated him. I wish he and the board the best in the next four years.”

Galvin and Kelly won with 327 votes and 287 votes, respectively. Monroe, who garnered 253 votes, lost his seat by 34 votes. Newcomer Colin Hayes, who ran on a platform of being a voice for young people, received the fewest votes at 131.

Galvin said he’s excited.

“I do want to thank everybody who came out to vote. I’m going to work as hard as I can for the people who voted for me and work even harder to earn the votes of those that didn’t,” he said Wednesday. “I think Lake Placid was fortunate to have a good group of candidates vying for the slots that were open, and I think that speaks well for the future. I’m excited to see where we go.”

“A huge thank-you to the many people who came out and voted yesterday,” Kelly said Wednesday. “It’s a privilege to be elected village trustee, and I’m honored to be a steward of the public trust. It was a good campaign. Both Scott and Colin were worthy opponents.”

Kelly acknowledged Monroe’s prior service to the village and said she hopes Hayes stays involved with the village.

“I hope he really stays involved and doesn’t let this deter him from staying involved. it’s important he be a role model for the youth of our community.”

“I know there were those people who were skeptical of the Teamwork party,” she added. “I think they’ll find more progress will be made by open dialogue and compromise.”

Monroe said, “I thank everybody for the support over the last eight years.” To his opponents, he said, “I hope everything goes well.”

Monroe said he wasn’t sure if he would run again, but he plans to still stay active in the community.

Hayes could not be reached by phone Wednesday, but he posted a statement on his campaign page.

“Thank you to everyone who came out and voted in favor of me. I’m honor to have earned their vote,” he said.

To his opponents, Hayes said he wished them well. Asked if he would consider running again, Hayes said he “looks forward to what the future holds.”

“Obviously I wouldn’t rule it out, but right now, I’m happy with what we’ve done and I’ll cross that bridge when we come to it,” he said.

Justice David Coursen ran unopposed and won with 390 votes.