VT puts travel restrictions on Essex County … again

The state of Vermont has again imposed travel restrictions for New York’s Essex County.

The restrictions were imposed as Essex County sees its number of new COVID-19 cases continue to rise. As of Tuesday, Oct. 13, there were 11 active cases countywide, seven new ones since Oct. 9. Four people in Essex County were hospitalized with COVID-19, with one new hospitalization since Oct. 9.

As of Oct. 13, the county had seen a total of 223 cases since March. Most of those, about 61%, were discovered since Aug. 17, when a coronavirus outbreak at the Essex Center nursing home and rehabilitation facility was found. Not all of the new cases are connected to the nursing home outbreak, however.

Vermont’s travel new restrictions require any Vermonter who travels to Essex County, New York, to quarantine when they return home. Those traveling from Essex County into Vermont are required to either quarantine for 14 days upon arrival or quarantine at home for seven days and test negative for COVID-19 prior to traveling.

Essex County residents who plan to camp or vacation in Vermont are also required to sign a certificate of compliance with the quarantine requirement when they book a campsite, vacation rental or hotel room. Essential workers traveling for business face different requirements.

Warren County is also on Vermont’s travel advisory list.

More on the Vermont travel restrictions is available at http://accd.vermont.gov/covid-19/restart/cross-state-travel.

The state of Vermont wasn’t alone in imposing new travel restrictions this week. The state of New York added three new states to its quarantine list on Oct. 13: Ohio, Michigan and Virginia.

Anyone traveling to New York from these states is required to quarantine for 14 days. No states were removed from New York’s quarantine list, which now includes Alaska, Alabama, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Iowa, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, New Mexico, Nevada, Ohio, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Wisconsin, West Virginia and Wyoming.