Vermont imposes travel limits for Essex, Hamilton counties

The Lake Champlain Bridge at Crown Point links the states of New York and Vermont, seen here from the Crown Point State Historic Site on the New York side. (Provided photo — Andy Flynn)

The state of Vermont has imposed travel restrictions for New York’s Essex and Hamilton counties.

The restrictions were imposed as Essex County contends with its first major outbreak at a nursing home. As of Monday, Aug. 31, at least 84 people have tested positive for COVID-19 in connection with the outbreak at the Essex Center nursing home and rehabilitation facility in Elizabethtown. Six of the center’s residents have died. Hamilton County has seen at least 14 confirmed cases of COVID-19 since March, according to the New York State Department of Health.

Vermont’s travel new restrictions require any Vermonter who travels to Essex or Hamilton counties to quarantine when they return home. Those traveling from Essex or Hamilton counties into Vermont are required to either quarantine for 14 days upon arrival, or quarantine at home for seven days and test negative for COVID-19 prior to traveling.

Essex and Hamilton County residents who plan to camp or vacation in Vermont are also required to sign a certificate of compliance with the quarantine requirement when they book a campsite, vacation rental or hotel room. Essential workers traveling for business face different requirements.

More on the Vermont travel restrictions is available at accd.vermont.gov/covid-19/restart/cross-state-travel.

In the Northeast, all of New York City, Long Island and 22 other New York counties are on Vermont’s travel restrictions list, as are the entire states of Delaware and Rhode Island and parts of Connecticut, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Virginia and West Virginia.

(Lake Placid News Editor Andy Flynn contributed to this report.)