Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | News | Local News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Make plans to celebrate this year’s Lake Placid Hall of Fame inductees

September 29, 2016
Editorial , Lake Placid News

We are excited to see four deserving community members being inducted into the Lake Placid Hall of Fame this year, and we encourage people to attend the Class of 2016 induction ceremony to help celebrate their many contributions.

The nominees are Olympic Center Manager Dennis Allen, Tupper Lake businessman Jim LaValley, Lake Placid hotelier Caroline Draper Lussi and town of North Elba Supervisor Roby Politi.

The 33rd annual Induction Banquet will be held Saturday, Nov. 12 at the Lake Placid Conference Center. The cash bar opens at 6 p.m. and will be followed by dinner at 7 p.m. Tickets cost $38 each and are now available at the Olympic Center box office through Tuesday, Nov. 8.

The Lake Placid Hall of Fame began in 1983 and has inducted more than 100 individuals, as well as the members of the 1948 U.S. Olympic four-man bobsled team and the 1980 U.S. Olympic hockey team. Permanent plaques commemorating each member are on display in the Conference Center.

To be considered for induction into the Lake Placid Hall of Fame, individuals should be past or current residents of the Olympic region or have some significant connection to the area. Carefully selected by Hall of Fame Committee members, all nominees must have made significant sports, cultural or civic contributions to the region, or their endeavors must have enhanced the historical heritage of the area.

The 2016 Lake Placid Hall of Fame Committee members are Ron Butler, Sue Cameron, Ben Cross, Diana Friedlander, Cindy Gallagher, Jack Irvin, Jack LaDuke and Carrie Wardlaw.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web