Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | News | Local News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Lake Placid voters pass school budget

May 22, 2014
By MATTHEW TURNER ( , Lake Placid News

LAKE PLACID - Voters passed a $17.6 million budget for the Lake Placid Central School District Tuesday, May 20, increasing the tax levy by 2 percent.

Of the 529 votes for the budget, 81 percent were in favor and 19 percent were against. The new tax levy will be $14,498,512, and the new tax rate will be $6.93 per $1,000 assessed property value. Three full-time equivalent faculty positions were cut from the district, mostly through attrition.

Voters also passed two referendum questions. The first gives $57,000 to the district to purchase three school buses. It received 77 percent approval from voters, or 407 yes votes. The second question gives $13,000 worth of funding to the E.M. Cooper Memorial Public Library in Wilmington and was approved by 83 percent of the voters, or 429 yes votes.

School board clerk Karen Angelopoulos said voter turnout at the polls had been steady throughout the day.

Angelopoulos did not release exit poll results for a veteran tax exemption straw vote. She said those details will be released and discussed later at a board meeting.

School board election

School board election results are currently inconclusive due to a voting machine malfunction in Wilmington.

"The Wilmington machine didn't work for the board candidates at all, but worked for everything else," Angelopoulos said. "In the morning it will be counted by hand."

Angelopoulos said the line where the voters press a candidate's name failed.

The winning candidates are known, since there were unopposed: Enzo Villani, Patricia Stanton and Camelia Sheridan of Lake Placid are running for three open three-year terms.

What's not known is who will start first. The top vote-getter will take their place on the board immediately replacing school board member Jennifer Tufano. The other two other newly elected candidates will start in July after the current holders of those seats, Herb Stoerr and Phil Baumbach, finish their terms.

Baumbach, Storerr and Tufano did not seek re-election.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web