Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | News | Local News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Champions return

Defending men’s champ, ’08 women’s winner top field

July 21, 2010
By the News staff

    LAKE PLACID — The 2010 Ford Ironman Lake Placid professional race features a pair of former winners, along with a number of past Ironman champions.

    Joining the men’s defending champion, Maik Twelsiek of Germany, will be multiple Ironman winners Australian Jason Shortis and Bryan Rhodes of New Zealand.

    The women’s field will be led by Americans Caitlin Snow, the 2008 Ironman Lake Placid champion, and Amy Marsh.

    Twelsiek won his first Ironman title in 2007 at Ford Ironman Wisconsin and recently finished in third place at Ironman Lanzarote. He posted a 12th place finish at the 2009 Ironman World Championship.

    Shortis is a veteran of the Ironman circuit with a resume that includes two titles at Ironman Western Australia. He raced to a third place finish at Ironman Lake Placid in 2003 and repeated that performance at the 2009 race.

    Rhodes is on the comeback trail after an achilles injury last year. His last Ironman win was at the 2008 Subaru Ironman Canada.

    Others to watch in the field are Ben Hoffman, who placed third at the early season Ironman St. George and perennial top 10 finisher Petr Vabrousek.

    Snow, a Brockton, Mass. native,  followed her surprise win here in Lake Placid in 2008 with a second place finish last year. Known for her amazing strength on the marathon, Snow used that speed to move herself up to third place at Ford Ironman St. George in May.

    Marsh took her first Ironman title at the 2009 Ironman Wisconsin. The Austin, Texas resident added to that with a recent win at the 2010 Ironman China.

    Australia’s Carrie Lester burst on to the Ironman scene with a win at Ironman Australia earlier this year. It was her first Ironman and first marathon.

    Ironman returns to Lake Placid for the 12th consecutive year, with the pro swim slated to begin at 6:50 a.m. on Sunday, July 25.

    More than 3,000 athletes are expected to compete for a professional prize purse of $50,000 and 72 qualifying spots for the 2010 Ford Ironman World Championship to be held in Kailua-Kona, Hawaii on Oct. 9.

Article Photos

Photo by Lou Reuter/Lake Placid News
Maik Twelsiek of Germany crosses the finish line to win last year’s Ironman Lake Placid.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web